Search Manic Mark's Blog

Friday, November 19, 2021

I Cry By Night - Kay Starr


I Cry By Night

I Cry By Night
Kay Starr
Produced by Dave Cavanaugh
Cover Photo/Capitol Photo Studio: Ken Veeder
Capitol Records T 1681

From the back cover: Swinging softly behind Kay are the instrumentalists: the venerable jazzman Ben Webster on tenor sax, Manny Klein on trumpet, Gerald Wiggins on piano, Al Hendrickson on guitar, Joe Comfort on bass and Lee Young on drums. In ensemble or in solo passages, their contributions are masterworks of creativity and restraint – perfect settings for Kay Starr's exciting, deeply moving vocals of forsaken love.

From Billboard - March 3, 1962: Kay Starr sings from the heart here, backed by an instrumental group that contributes a jazz feeling to the package. Material includes "Baby Won't You Please Come Home," "It Had To Be You," "More Than You Know." Fans will like it.

I'm Alone Because I Love You
I Cry By Night
Baby Won't You Please Come Home
More Than You Know
Lover Man (Oh, Where Can You Be?)
My Kinda Love
It Had To Be You
Whispering Glass
What do You See In Her?
P.S. I Love You
I'm Still In Love With You


  1. The inner sleeve posted displays some of Capitol's best sellers of the era.

    Thanks, Mark.


Howdy! Thanks for leaving your thoughts!