Search Manic Mark's Blog

Friday, December 13, 2013

Bach For Percussion - John Klein

Bach For Percussion
John Klein
The New York Percussion Ensemble
Audio Fidelity AFLP 1812

Toccata and Fugue in D Minor
Fugue in G Minor ("The Great") – Toccata in F Major – Fugue in C Major
Transcribed for Precussion Ensemble by John Klein
The New York Percussion Ensemble (Saul Goodman, Elden Bailey, Walter Rosenberger, Morris Lang, Gilbert Breines)
Harold Glick, Conductor

From the back cover: Mr. Klein has composed music for no less than 137 dramas for the United States Trasury Department NBC Transcription Series, for which he received the Distinguished Service Citation and the Treasury Silver Medal Award, an honor bestowed for "extraordinary assistance and distinguished service." He has arranged music for top radio and television shows, including "The Hit Parade," "Stop the Music," and other equally popular programs; also for a number of Broadway shows. His published compositions number in the hundreds, and include works for piano, organ, chamber ensembles, choral groups, a violin concerto, orchestral music and pieces for symphonic band. In addition, he has composed music for films.

One of his major achievements is a monumental, widely-used two-volume work entitled "The First Four Centuries of Music" (New York, 1948), which contains examples of early music and explanatory text covering the period of from 1350 to 1750.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Howdy! Thanks for leaving your thoughts!