Search Manic Mark's Blog

Monday, September 27, 2021

Clarion Wind Quintet - David Amram & Bernhard Heiden


Intermezo - Bernhard Heiden

Finale - David Amram

Clarion Wind Quintet
Quintet For Winds (1968) - David Amram
Woodwind Quintet (1965) - Bernhard Heiden
Golden Crest Records CRS 4125

Philip Dunigan - Flute
Stephen Adelstein - Oboe
Robert Listokin - Clarinet
Fredrick Bergstone - Horn
Mark Popkin - Basson

From the back cover: The Clarion Wind Quintet was formed in 1961 by five musicians who were all members of the Clarion Orchestra. They gave their first concerts under the sponsorship of the Clarion Music Society. Since that time they have toured the United States and in 1965 and 1968 made tours of Europe. Since 1965 the Clarion Wind Quintet has been in residence at the North Carolina School of the Arts in Winston-Salem, North Carolina.

Bernard Heiden was born into a musical family in Frankfurt, Germany in 1910. From 1929 to 1934 he was enrolled at the Berlin Hochschule where he was a pupil of Paul Hindemith who thought to be the dominant  influence in his musical development. In 1935 he emigrated to the U.S. and settled in Detroit where he was active as a conductor as well as a composer. During World War II he served in the U. S. Army. Since 1956 he has taught composition at the University of Indiana.

The Woodwind Quintet was composed in 1965 and first performed by the American Woodwind Quintet of the University of Indiana to whom it is dedicated. The first European performance was given at a concert in Berlin by the Clarion Quintet on March 18, 1968,

David Amram is a native of Philadelphia where he was born in 1930. He is an accomplished french hornist and has played extensively both as a jazz musician and with symphony orchestras. At the Manhattan School of Music he studied composition with Vittorio Giannini and conducting with Jonel Perlea. He has produced much theatre and film music as well as orchestral, chamber and operatic works. His lively and uninhibited memoir "Vibrations" was published by the MacMillan Company in 1968.

The Quintet For Winds was written on a commission from the Kindler Foundation. It was completed January 6, 1969 at 7:04 A.M. and first performed January 13, 1969 in Washington, D.C. at a concert of the University of Maryland Woodwind Quintet.

Quintet For Winds (1968) Davide Amram
I. Allegro con brio
II. Andante Pastorale
III. Theme and Variations

Woodwind Quintet (1965 (Bernhard Heiden)
I. Variations
II. Capriccio
III. Intermezzo
IV. Finale

No comments:

Post a Comment

Howdy! Thanks for leaving your thoughts!