Search Manic Mark's Blog

Monday, March 21, 2022

Invitation - Milt Jackson


The Sealer

Milt Jackson Sextet
Produced by Orrin Keepnews
Recording Engineer: Ray Fowler
Recorded at Plaza Sound Studios, New York City
Album Design: Ken Deardoff
Back Liner Notes: Steve Schaprio
Riverside Records are produced by Bill Grauer Productions, Inc.
Riverside RS 9446


Mile Jackson - Vibraharp
Kenny Dorham - Trumpet (Dorhan does not play on Stella By Starlight)
Jimmy Heath - Tenor Sax
Tommy Flanagan - Piano
Ron Carter - Bass
Connie Kay - Drums
Virgil Jones - Trumpet, replaces Heath on Too Close For Comfort and Room-A-Loom

From the back cover: In Kenny Dorham and Jimmy Heath, Bags (Jackson) has two formidable front-line mates. Besides providing additional solo power, both have a hand in the scoring: Kenny on his own None Shall Wander, Jackson's The Sealer, and Invitation; Jimmy on the two songs concerned with Ruby. (Heath's tenor is replaced, on Too Close For Comfort and Room-A-Loom, by the trumpet of Virgil Jones, a Lionel Hampton sideman who shows an affinity for Miles Davis on the latter tune, where the second trumpet chorus is the only solo of the set.

Tommy Flanagan is a familiar figure in New York recording studios and for good reason. He and expert drummer Connie Kay were members of the fine quartet Jackson led at the Village Vanguard in 1962 when Connie and Milt had time off from their regular Modern Jazz Quartet assignments. Completing the excellent rhythm section is Ron Carter, one of the real, new stars on bass.

Too Close For Comfort
Ruby My Dear
The Sealer
Stella By Starlight
None Shall Wander

No comments:

Post a Comment

Howdy! Thanks for leaving your thoughts!