Search Manic Mark's Blog

Wednesday, February 8, 2017

Julita Ross

Seis Dias
Julita Ross
Claudio Ferrer Y Su Conjunto
Ansonia ALP 1256

From the back cover: Julita Ross was born in Arecibo and while still a child, moved to Santurce where she took part in musical shows presented by her school. She made personal appearances at various theaters and private functions and her professional debut was made on radio in Puerto Rico in 1940.

During the Second World War, she spent much of her time traveling with Abdias Villalonga and his orchestra. They toured the island of Puerto Rico entertaining the members of the armed forces stationed there.

In 1945, Julita left Puerto Rico to fulfill club engagements in New York. Her success was heightened by offers to appear in theaters and on radio. She was an overnight sensation and it was this year that she made her first phonograph records.

Her first big record was the Rafael Hernandez composition, "Diez Anos". Her recordings made such an impression on the public overseas that she was presented with contracts to make a personal tour. She gave various performances in Venezuela, Cuba, Mexico, Columbia and the Dominican Republic. One of her most liked recordings was the Claudio Ferrer composition "Aunque Me Llore.

Diez Anos
Me La Robaste
Noche De Boda
Dos Almas
No Nieues Que Me Quisiste
Miedo De Ti
Aunque Me Llore
Fichas Blancas
Mi Santa
Amor De Ayer
Seis Dias

No comments:

Post a Comment

Howdy! Thanks for leaving your thoughts!