Search Manic Mark's Blog

Wednesday, December 20, 2017

Shorty Rogers Courts The Count

Shorty Rodgers Courts The Count
Photos by Dave Pell
Cover Art: Jim Flora
RCA Victor

Personnel for the sides is as follows:

Topsy, Basie Eyes, It's Sand, Man and Doggin' Around

Trumpets: Shorty Rodgers - Conrad Gozzo - Maynard Ferguson - Harry Edison - Clyde Reasinger

Saxophones: Jimmy Guiffre - Zoot Sims - Herbie Geller - Bob Cooper - Bud Shank

Trombones: Milt Bernart - Harry Betts - Bob Enevoldsen

French Horn: John Grass

Tuba: Paul Sarmento

Bass: Cutis Counce

Piano: Marty Paich

Drums: Shelly Manne

Jump for Me, Over and Out, Down for Double and Swingin' the Blues

Pete Condoli replaces Clyde Reasinger; Bob Gordon replaces Zoot Sims.

H&J, Tickletoe, Taps Miller and Walk, Don't Run

Same as first session except Condoli for Reasinger.

From Billboard - June 19, 1954: Shorty Rodgers and a group of topflight modern jazzmen show off their appreciation for the music of Count Basie, and both Basie fans and the cool set will appreciate the ork's work. Surprising as it may sound the cool cats manage to capture the flavor of the Basie ork work, while at the same time keeping within the modern idiom. Selections include Basie favorites like "Swingin' the Blues," "Jump for Me" and "Taps Miller," the latter two penned by the Count. And three of the selections, "Over and Out," "Walk Don't Run" and "Basie Eyes," were penned by Rodgers himself. Rodgers, Maynard Ferguson, Harry Edison and Pete Condoli on trumpets, Jimmy Guiffre and Bill Holman on tenor, Milt Bernhart on trombone and Shelley Manne on drums are in the groove. A set that should interest many jazz fans.

Jump For Me
It's Sand, Man
Basie Eyes
Doggin' Around
Down For Double
Over And Out
Taps Miller
Swingin' The Blue
Walk, Don't Run

No comments:

Post a Comment

Howdy! Thanks for leaving your thoughts!