Search Manic Mark's Blog

Saturday, April 17, 2021

Confessions Of A Male Chauvinist Pig - Artie Kaplan


The American Dream

Confessions Of A Male Chauvinist Pig
Artie Kaplan
Produced by Mort Ross and Artie Kaplan
Horns, Strings and Voices Arranged and Conducted by Chris Kedrick
Production Coordinator: Mike Levine
Music Coordinator: Ronald Frangipane
Production Assistant: Barbara Bock
Engineers: Jeff Zaraya and John Woram
Remixing: Jeff Zaraya
Special Thanks to Linda November and her singers
Hopi Records VHS-901
Distributed in Canada by London Records of Canada (1967) LTD

From the back cover: Artie Kaplan was born, brought up and officially educated in Brooklyn, New York. His father was a small businessman with a surpassing love for music. Early Artie learned that the wide world was full of interests, different from what he was officially taught, that a man had to educate himself, a process in which he is still madly engaged. Turning to jazz, his youthful great heroes were Stan Kenton, Charlie Parker, Lester Young, Dizzy Gillespie and Stan Getz. He travelled round the country playing with Territory Bands, and with every other kind of band he could get into, playing every style of music put before him, always learning, trying everything. He has played in the Music Business for twelve years, assisting other artists, getting ideas but learning to keep them to himself, taking part in hundreds of hit records. He has been writing for ten years, and now he regards composition seriously, which means devoting himself to it whenever he can get a free hour or two. And now, at the age of 37, he is ready to say things his way. He hopes the public will like it. He venerates music, thinks almost everybody working in it has something to offer the public, and especially admires the musicians working with him. Arnie Lawrence of Alto Sax and Burt Collins on Trumpet, he thinks are "marvelous." Vinnie Bell to him is a wonderful guitar player, Bobby Dedrick, young, only 24, is someone to watch. Artie is married and has twin girls.

Confessions Of A Male Chauvinist Pig
  a. Big Time Me
  b. Marriage (Flugelhorn solo, Burt Collins)
  c. In My Lifetime
  d. Where Have All The Bitches Gone? (Guitar solo, Bobby Mann)
God Fearin' Man (Electric Violin solo, Richard Greene)
Stay, Don't Go (Guitar solo, Vinnie Bell)
Music Is Sweet Music In My Soul
The American Dream (Solo alto sax, Arnie Lawrence; solo trumpet solo, Burt Collins)

1 comment:

  1. It's time for my semi-regular check-in to say THANKYOU THANKYOU THANKYOU for these wonderful wonders. Much appreciated!


Howdy! Thanks for leaving your thoughts!